A Broken Haiku for a Broken Heart

My brother-in-law passed away last week.  We knew it was coming but that didn’t make it any easier to bear.  I composed this poem while I was driving.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

READER DISCRETION IS ADVISED. Contains mature language may be unsuitable for some readers.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The night road stretches
Long before us. We’ve taken
This route before in

Times of thanksgiving
And joyous expectation,

But not this time.

Tonight we’re on the
Way to say our last goodbye
to our dear brother.

the call came at mid-day

In the still of the
Night, we share the road with large
Beasts of burden whose

Yellow lights adorn
Their loads like a strand of pearls.
Their red lights stare back

And meet my red eyes
That stare forward, and only
For a moment

I am consoled.

“Hello. I’m calling to say that he is gone.”

Lining the road named
To honor and remember
Our veterans, tall

Dark sentinels stand
At attention and pay their
Own tribute while they

Hem me in and force
Me down a long dark path I
Do not want to

Travel
To pay my own tribute
And lay one of theirs,
One of ours,
To rest.

Fuck you cancer.

Lights flash against my
Closed eyes and the hum of tires
On asphalt lull me

To restless sleep.

Fuck you cancer. Fuck you and all your progeny. If I could I would banish you to the hinterlands and let all its nasties feast on you until you wither up and die.

All too soon we
Arrived.

Hugs.
Tears.
Twenty-one guns.
Taps.

Farewell.

Don Puckett

Don Puckett

This entry was posted in A Slice of Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

