Resolutions are Something You Make and Resolve is Something You Have

Over the last week I’ve been thinking about my success from last year and why they were successes and I think I kinda sorta have an answer.  I didn’t tie my goals to anything.  Not a new year, not a Monday, not anything at all.  I just made a decision about what I wanted to do and I did it.

Usain Bolt, courtesy of JMEX via Wikimedia Commons

Usain Bolt, courtesy of JMEX via Wikimedia Commons

For example, my decision to run came from Usain Bolt’s performance in the 2012 Summer Olympics.  I used to run as a kid and I loved it but somehow a psychological block developed which stopped me for a very long time.  So that summer, I had enough and decided phooey on that and started running again just as the hottest part of the summer was arriving.  Hard work, but my body feels better for it.

The same thing goes with my diet.  It was during the summer a couple of years ago when I tried a gluten-free cupcake and realized almost immediately that I didn’t have the heavy bloated bodily response that’s I typically got with regular cupcakes.  A-ha!  I think I’m on to something.  Now, a year and a half later, I’m pretty much grass-grain free and my body thanks me for that too.

This week I read a very good post from Jeff Goins on New Year’s Resolutions  In a nutshell he says that resolutions are something you make and that resolve is something you have.  I like that and it gives me validation that maybe I’m on the right track as far as my decisions go.

Blessing Book

Blessing Book

Here is my book of Promises and Blessings.  The promise for the week is found in 2 Timothy 1:7:  For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but one of power, love, and self-control.  But then I looked at the preceding verse and I think the first part of that one is what makes this one awesome:  Fan into flame the gift of God.

Develop our gifts until they are a fiery inferno!  Can you imagine what this world would look like if we all did that, whatever our gifts may be?  Ditch the fear and live with courage!

Here’s the first sampling of my blessings:

  • Thanks to Random Pocket Notes I figured out how to make old fashioned fudge (that’s fudge WITHOUT corn syrup or marshmallows) without burning it.  I am in heaven with this one.  I’ve had a recipe passed down to me from my mother-in-law but I never could seem to get it right.  She’s getting up there in years now and hasn’t made in forever, so she couldn’t help me figure out what I was doing wrong.  Let’s put it this way:  it turned out so good my Dude told the folks at work that he wasn’t bringing any of it in because he was planning to eat it all.
  • That the winters down here aren’t too terribly cold, not like what the folks in the upper Mid-West have to deal with especially over the next few days.
  • That I have a decent paying job in a world in which the economy is still not good.
  • That I have a house to live in.
  • The safe return of Miss E from spending New Year’s Eve with her buddies.
  • Knowing Miss E has friends who love her and seeing her love them back as they laugh and have fun with each other.
  • That I can knit a simple stitch and that the project I’m working on actually looks pretty good.
  • Even though I am not our cat’s human, she sure likes to jump into my lap and cuddle with me.
Palusa

Palusa

What about you?  How is your new year coming so far?

Take care now.

Karina

This entry was posted in A Slice of Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

