It’s the Season of Lent. Please Don’t Fast From Showering.

It’s Monday and y’all know what that means:  Luciferous Logolepsy’s Words of the Week.

Luciferous Logolepsy’s mission is to drag obscure words into the light of day.  I believe that the words our forefathers and foremothers used have so much more character than the words we typically use today so my mission is to help Luciferous Logolepsy nudge those lovely words back into the light of day by giving them a little blog love.

This week, we’re highlighting the letter I.  I’ve closed my eyes and thrown the proverbial dart at the wall and this is what we get to work with:

jactitation
n. – loud or public bragging; or excessive twitching and restlessness

jejunator
n. – one who fasts

jumentous
adj. – having a strong animal smell

We are in the Christian season of lent in which many folks become jujenators by practicing fasting.  (This is not going to be a religious post so please bear with me.)  There are many different ways to fast.  When it comes to food, a typical fast is from chocolate or candy or soda.  But there are other types of fasting when people see something in their lives they want to change.  Some people fast from cursing.  Some fast from the internet.  I know someone who knew that their time on Facebook was getting way out of hand so they fasted from Facebook.

The Fudge Company visiting the Texas State Fair

The Fudge Company visiting the Texas State Fair

Me?  A few years ago, one day a week I fasted from food.  All food.  In the beginning it was the hardest thing I’d ever done but by the time Lent was over, I realized that I had given myself a great blessing.  Over the course of six weeks I had fasted from food only six times and that literally broke my emotional contact with food.  If your health allows it, I would recommend doing this.  Just make sure you check with your doctor first because I don’t want you to do anything that would harm yourself.

I digress.

Every year, my sister tries to attend Dragoncon, the world’s largest fantasy/SF convention, held annually in Atlanta, GA, on Labor Day weekend.  Dragoncon (and most every other convention as well) has the 6-2-1 rule.  For every 24 hours, get at least 6 hrs of sleep, 2 good meals (and more than just cheese puff and beer please), and 1 shower.

When you don’t get enough sleep, you get overtired.  Once you reach that point, even if you try to lie down and rest it doesn’t work.  Jactitation takes over.  You get restless and twitchy.  In bed you toss and turn, and toss and turn some more.  Sometimes folks don’t even try to lie down but because jactitation has such a hold on them their energy levels have reached overdrive and they go out and get loud and rambunctious and end up making fools of themselves in a myriad of ways.  It may even look like you’re drunk even though you’re not.

Ok, so this toddler is not really rambunctious but I would say he or she is overtired, and maybe looking for attention.  Anyway, can you imagine something like this from an adult?  Cops see it every day.  Sleep is supremely important.  Please do not become a jejunator from sleep.

Emily - Flikr

Emily – Flikr

I, and everyone else you come in contact with, also beg and plead with you to not become jumentous because you’re a jejunator from showering. No one wants to come across someone who fasts from taking showers. That was done enough, although not really by choice, a hundred and fifty years ago when the vast western stretches of North America was being settled by anglo Europeans. Today there is enough soap and water to go around to please do us all a favor and use them.

So, in a nutshell, try fasting from food (with your doctor’s permission of course), but do not fast from sleep, and above all do not fast from showering!  I, and your fellow man, would be eternally grateful.

What about you?  Have you ever fasted? What have you fasted from?  Did you notice any benefits? I’d love to hear from you.

Next week, I’ll be highlighting the letter K.  I hope to see you then.

Source: Luciferous Logolepsy

This entry was posted in A Slice of Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s the Season of Lent. Please Don’t Fast From Showering.

  1. C. C. Cedras says:

    *sigh* My husband suggests I fast from Amazon/Kindlle purchases….

    Like

    • Wow. That’s a tall order. I’m still old school and, at least for now, still prefer the actual book. If I had to stop buying those there’d be a whole lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth in my household.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. layponders says:

    I didn’t know you fasted. I’ve got a friend who fasts twice a year, and it’s not a week long thing. Hers is like 40 days at a time. I’m in awe of her abilities…

    And i can’t wait to see the fudge guy during our annual pilgrimage to the State Fair 🙂

    Like

  3. Joni Hahn says:

    Wow, I’ve worked with some dedicated people that fasted from showers year round. 🙂

    I know alot of people that have fasted from Facebook this year. Most fast from sugar or bread.

    I’m not fasting this year but giving more. However, don’t ask for money – I’m already out. 🙂

    Great post!

    Like

  4. Diana Beebe says:

    LOL. I promise that I will not fast from showering! I could do with less fasting when it comes to sleep though. Hilarious–I didn’t even know these were words. I wonder how I can get away with using any of them in a sentence…

    Like

    • Thank you Diana! I promise too! I’m having a lot of fun working with these obscure words. My husband even finds a way to use some of them with his co-workers, which to his glee, earns him looks of “huh?” Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Comments

