Annointed by Dental Floss

It’s Monday and y’all know what that means:  Luciferous Logolepsy’s Words of the Week.

Luciferous Logolepsy’s mission is to drag obscure words into the light of day.  I believe that the words our forefathers and foremothers used have so much more character than the words we typically use today so my mission is to help Luciferous Logolepsy nudge those lovely words back into the light of day by giving them a little blog love.

This week, we’re highlighting the letter I.  I’ve closed my eyes and thrown the proverbial dart at the wall and this is what we get to work with:

iatromisia
n. – dislike of doctors

inanition
n. – emptiness; starvation; exhaustion.

inunct
v. – anoint. inunction, n. act of anointing; ointment; rubbing of ointment into skin. inunctum, n. lanolin ointment.

When my children were much younger, they gave me fits with their stubbornness to not dress appropriately during the winter months.  It could be just above freezing and off both my son and daughter would go, in shorts and t-shirts, to play outside with their buddies.

“Bye Mom!  I’m going down to the creek!”

“Ahem.  Where’s your coat?”  (We live in a semi-rural area and you see, I was much more worried about them dressing appropriately than the fear of snakes or any other nasties they would find at the creek.)

University of Mary Washington - Images Throughout the Years

University of Mary Washington – Images Throughout the Years

“I don’t need one.  It’s not cold outside.”

And the battle would start.  I would tell them they would get sick and then I would have to take them to the doctor but they would just scoff and dismiss my worries.  If I did manage to get them to put on a coat, it would come right off as soon as they left the house.

I would try everything to convince them to put that darn coat on because I absolutely did not want to have to take them to the doctor.  Do you think I had a case of iatromisia?  Nope.  Not at all.  It was all about me having to explain exactly why we were there which would, at least in my mind, translate into the question of why I had no control over my children.

I can hear the questions now:

“Don’t they have a coat?”

“Why weren’t they wearing it?”

“Why didn’t you MAKE them wear it?”

Thank goodness they never got sick or I would be a complete wreck because I would think I was a failure as a mother.

And that leads me to the word inunct which means to annoint.

We, all of us, every single one of us, are annointed to be either parents or parental type influences, or both, in the lives of young people.  For some, children are born to us.  Some adopt children, and others step into a position in which we guide and help young people who are not related to us navigate the treacherous waters to adulthood and beyond.  Some of us do this consciously, others do it unconsciously.  Most of us who do this are adults but it’s also fairly common for children and teens to exhibit this behavior to other children and their fellow peers as well as to us adults.  I’ve learned over the years that if we but sit back, we can learn more than we ever expected from our young people.

But I also believe that parenting or guiding or leading young people is one of the most difficult jobs there is.  We can do our best and still our charges grow up and make decisions that we know will lead them to ruin.  The really bad part is that all we can do is stand there and watch their lives implode, powerless to stop it.

Others are lucky.  The children they influence make the right decisions and end up with happy and successful lives.  Yep.  They are definitely the lucky ones and indeed are the cause for great envy.

But you know, I also believe that we’re not given any more than we can handle.  Being placed in difficult situations changes us and makes us grow in ways we never expected.  I had a conversation with Hubs the other day about this when I shared a story of a childhood incident of someone I know.  They lived way out in the country, far away from any doctors offices, and once when she got cut her mother just looked at her and said:

Dental Floss via Stilfehler at Wikimedia Commons

Credit to Stilfehler via Wikimedia Commons

“I’m not taking you into town for this.  Go get me some of that unwaxed dental floss and we’ll stitch that up right quick.”

I looked at Hubs and said, “I could never do that.”

Without even looking at me he said, “If you had to, you could.”

That’s the key.  If we have to, we can do what needs to be done.  We will rise to the occasion and do what needs to be done, no matter what it is and no matter what the end result might be.  That is our annointing, our inunction.

This leads me to the last word in the list, inanition, or starvation.  If we don’t take our inunction seriously and grow that means we’re starving ourselves.  Starving ourselves of experiences that make our life richer and the lives of all those around us richer too.

We must not be afraid to embrace the unknown.  Yes it’s fearful and scary but if we hunker down and refuse to take that step, then we rob ourselves of growth.  We become our own worst enemy.  We starve ourself.

I’m leaving you with the song “Stronger” by Kelly Clarkson.  Any adversity, if it doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger.  When our life gives us lemons (and some people are not only given lemons but they’re given nasty gross rotten lemons) that is a chance for us to develop and grow in ways we never expected.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger
Stand a little taller
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone
What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter
Footsteps even lighter
Doesn’t mean I’m over cause you’re gone

What about you?  What kind of adversity have you experienced in your annointing or inunction?  Did you hunker down in fear or did you take that step into the unknown?  I’d love to hear from you.

Next week, I’ll be highlighting the letter J.  I hope to see you then.

Source: Luciferous Logolepsy

This entry was posted in A Slice of Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

