Word of the Week: Frumentaceous

Luciferous Logolepsy’s mission is to drag obscure words into the light of day.  I believe that the words our forefathers and foremothers used have so much more character than the words we typically use today so my mission is to help Luciferous Logolepsy nudge those lovely words back into the light of day by giving them a little blog love.

This week, we’re highlighting the letter F.  I’ve closed my eyes and thrown the proverbial dart at the wall and this is what we get to work with:

femicide
n. – killing or killer of woman

floccose
adj. – woolly

frumenty
n. – dish of hulled wheat boiled in milk, with sugar. frumentaceous, adj. like or made of grain

Frumentaceous?  Wow.  I really like how that sounds.  The mixture of vowels and consonants really comes together into one glorious word that rolls off the tongue.

Ok.  Back to the task at hand.  Let’s see.  What kind of sentence, or two, can I come up with that incorporates all three of these words.

Jack the Ripper, after a delicious dinner of frumenty, wrapped himself in his floccose long coat and went out to commit femicide.

Well, that’s kind of lame.  Surely I can come up with something better that.

Ok. How about this:  The green floccose frumenty sat in the refrigerator and mocked me, daring me to pick it up and take a bite.  Instead, I dressed myself in a Level V contaminant suit, gingerly picked it up with two fingers and threw it and the container it was sitting in away so it could not engage in femicide.

Ok.  That’s a little better.

How about you?  What can you do with these three lovely words?  Tell me!  I’d love to hear from you.

This entry was posted in A Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Word of the Week: Frumentaceous

  1. love words and this is fun, funny. I also like made up words like “ungrept” a spouse that has no idea that he/she is living w/ a genius. ROFLMAO

    Like

Comments

