GTT Editing Update 03/15/2012

Okay, I’m coming up for air to give you all an update on my progress.  Previously I decided  to start the book with Ebenezer’s story but after receiving input from some beta readers, I’ve gone back to my original plan of opening with Mel’s story.  I’m moving what I’ve written about Eb to later in the book.

I’ve also come to the conclusion that this is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done in my entire life.  The biggest problem right now is that I’m finding myself trying to focus on the historical events and write it like a history book.  Well, I’m not writing a history book.  I’m writing historical fiction.  The historical events must not be allowed to overshadow my characters and their plot.

I now have about 12 chapters and over 27,000 words written!  This more than anything else is really motivating me to continue moving ahead.  I won’t make my original goal of finishing by May but at this rate, I hope that I’ll be done or close to done, by the end of the year!

This entry was posted in For the Sake of Freedom - Current WIP, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GTT Editing Update 03/15/2012

  1. Good job and good luck! 😀

    Like

Comments

