NaNoWriMo First Week

This week was a good one but I think maybe it’s because I’m still in the honeymoon suite in Nanoland. You have to write a daily minimum of 1667 words per day to make 50,000 by November 30 but I decided to go beyond that. I set my personal goal at 2000 words per day. I figure that if I aim higher, I can stock up on those words when I’m having good days for those bad days in which the words just won’t come.

The first day, I opened up my writing program and just sat there watching the cursor blink at me as if to say, “Ok. Here I am waiting for you to move me along the page. Now quit poking around and get to writing!” Oh boy.

So I took a deep breath and started. My first session was only about 30 minutes and I was able to get out about 850 words. Wow. That’s a lot for 30 minutes. Maybe it’s because it’s my first day? Yea, that’s gotta be it. But then later in the evening I did it again until I wrote 1947 words. Not quite my goal of 2000 but nevertheless I was close. Not bad for my first day.

Day 2 was not so good. It was a Wednesday and my Wednesday evenings are very full so I didn’t get to write except for at lunch. Again, I whipped out about 850 words in 30 minutes.

Day 3 was fabulous! I made my goal plus I made up all missing words from Day 2, for a total of 2219 and it only took me about a total of 2 1/2 hours to do it. My average is right at the 1667 words per day. Whew!

Today, I wrote 2026. I now have a total of 7033, which is nearly 15% done!

A nice surprise is that while my fingers are flying, little things are coming out that I never would have thought of. For instance, at the beginning Eb is in hiding and waiting for a wagon of supplies that he will hide in while it takes him to Bexar but before he gets aboard, his master rides by with another man and the two talk about Eb, Eb’s wife Sara and their running away. It’s not nice. Foolishly Eb tries to jump out of the brush and beat them up but he gets tangled in it and crashes to the ground, still hidden. The two men hear him and attempt to enter the brush but it’s too dense. After a small investigation, they reason that it was some wild animal and move on. It’s a good thing too because Eb would’ve been recaptured and that would be the end of his story. Now I seriously doubt that this particular wording will ultimately stay in the final version but at least I’ve got it down. Later I can certainly tweak it to make it more realistic or even delete it if it no longer fits.

I am really feeling good about this. It is not as bad as I thought it would be and my super sonic typing speed seems to do its part in helping to move things along. This weekend, my goal is to really stock up on the words.

Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in A Slice of Life, For the Sake of Freedom - Current WIP, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

