What Are Friends and Family For?

This week has been a challenging week for me.  My day job (I’m not a best seller yet so I have to pay the bills somehow) is one in which things do not look good for the employees.  People may say the recession is over but for some, the prospect of layoffs is still very real.  This week I felt insecure, depressed, anxious and fearful.  I tried to remind myself that, as my mother used to say, “this too shall pass” and that, as my father-in-law said months ago, no matter what happens, we will be ok.  I failed miserably.  I tried to cast off my anxiety and pick up my pen and write but I just couldn’t do it.  And then I talked with a friend who had already been through this scenario.

Kelli was a comfort and just talking with her helped.  We agreed that there are no hard and fast answers and that it’s really hard to be in a situation where you don’t know what might be coming from around the bend but we still have to power on.  Today Kelli was just what I needed and after we got off the phone I was able to do just that.  I was able to put much of my anxiety behind me and get to work on my real job.

Writing may be a solitary endeavor but we still need our friends and family around us to help us to get through everything else life throws at us.  Thank you Kelli. You are a great friend indeed.

This entry was posted in A Slice of Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

